Welcome to the Windows On Windows® forum! The forum is free for anyone to use, so come join in the fun!

...Forum not enough for you? Chat live with other Windows® fans on our Discord server!

Winworld is down

Discuss here anything that does not fit into the other areas of the forum. (If you have a suggestion for a new sub-forum, please make it known by posting in the Suggestions Box.)
User avatar
TheComputerBetaG
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Posts: 185
Joined: April 14th, 2016, 5:49 pm
Location: E:\NAmerica\United_States.exe
Favourite Windows® development process: Vista
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7, 98, Vista
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Re: Winworld is down

Postby TheComputerBetaG » May 1st, 2016, 11:02 pm

So many items on there



User avatar
InsertGoodNameHere
Windows® 1.0
Windows® 1.0
Posts: 19
Joined: April 16th, 2016, 12:51 am
Favourite Windows® development process: Windows Whistler
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows 7
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Gender: None specified

Re: Winworld is down

Postby InsertGoodNameHere » May 1st, 2016, 11:05 pm

Weren't they doing a pretty big... let's say, renovation? Something like reddit style threads and such? Possibly that.
Main PC - i5 6600K, EVGA GTX 970 SC, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming, EVGA Supernova NEX 650G, 16GB DDR4 Kingston Fury (8x2), Corsair H100i GTX, 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Corsair 300R

Site: allgooddomainsareused.x10host.com (sef hosting coming soon)

User avatar
SonicKnuckles1998
Windows® 2.1
Windows® 2.1
Posts: 68
Joined: April 15th, 2016, 8:44 pm
Favourite Windows® development process: Windows Longhorn
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows XP
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 15 times
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby SonicKnuckles1998 » May 2nd, 2016, 1:35 am

That is a great resource! I put that in my bookmarks, but 4074 isn't there.
So, I uploaded it to mediafire like I said.

Link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/166rd ... ro-dvd.iso
Image

User avatar
RGiskeel
Windows® 2.0
Windows® 2.0
Posts: 25
Joined: April 22nd, 2016, 4:02 pm
Location: somewhere in Southeast Asia
Favourite Windows® development process: 7 and 8
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7 SP1 and Embedded 8.1 Industry
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby RGiskeel » May 2nd, 2016, 1:55 am

Well I actually just need to get this program called Syncronys SoftRAM from their site, because this software is infamous for its false advertising about increasing RAM. They do have it on their site, but it's currently down, so I can't just download it now.

Other than that, I just need Windows 7 beta ISOs (particularly build 7600.16384 "Pre-RTM" (because the RTM is 7600.16385) and build 6936) and Windows 8 beta too (particularly build 7989).

If anyone has those (SoftRAM, Win7 beta, or Win8 beta), PM me.
I'd really like to see if I could tweak Windows 8 Dev Preview beta so that it could be used for everyday stuff!*
*Includes tweaking it to the point where it identifies as Windows 7 SP1.

User avatar
esc1010
Windows® 2.0
Windows® 2.0
Posts: 46
Joined: April 19th, 2016, 8:22 pm
Favourite Windows® development process: XP
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby esc1010 » May 2nd, 2016, 3:03 am

RGiskeel wrote:I just realized that Winworld is currently down for whatever reason. It was working fine few days ago, but when I access it today it doesn't work and Chrome claims that the domain is nonexistent? Maybe someone hacked it? Because from what I read, if a site's domain suddenly becomes nonexistent there's a chance that a hacker might've taken control of it.

I can't just use BA because it really sucks that my FTP request was rejected, even though the file I uploaded wasn't on the logs yet. Have they tricked me for doing so? I felt that I was cheated by them because of this.

There's also another site called old-dos, but its list is not as complete as Winworld.

Any other suggestions to get some abandonware without trying to reupload and apply for FTP on BA just to find out that the request is rejected again?


Maybe they got DMCAed

User avatar
KPStheKid
Windows® 1.0
Windows® 1.0
Posts: 17
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 12:19 am
Location: Canada.exe (Shortcut)
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows XP
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby KPStheKid » May 2nd, 2016, 4:19 am

esc1010 wrote:
RGiskeel wrote:I just realized that Winworld is currently down for whatever reason. It was working fine few days ago, but when I access it today it doesn't work and Chrome claims that the domain is nonexistent? Maybe someone hacked it? Because from what I read, if a site's domain suddenly becomes nonexistent there's a chance that a hacker might've taken control of it.

I can't just use BA because it really sucks that my FTP request was rejected, even though the file I uploaded wasn't on the logs yet. Have they tricked me for doing so? I felt that I was cheated by them because of this.

There's also another site called old-dos, but its list is not as complete as Winworld.

Any other suggestions to get some abandonware without trying to reupload and apply for FTP on BA just to find out that the request is rejected again?


Maybe they got DMCAed


Not likely. They are an abandonware website so everyting you download is legal, because it's all outdated and unsupported software.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Signature V 2.0~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Image
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

User avatar
TheComputerBetaG
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Posts: 185
Joined: April 14th, 2016, 5:49 pm
Location: E:\NAmerica\United_States.exe
Favourite Windows® development process: Vista
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7, 98, Vista
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Re: Winworld is down

Postby TheComputerBetaG » May 2nd, 2016, 8:28 am

But strangely, Amazon still make money off of the older Operating Systems.

Well, at least the still sell them.

User avatar
RGiskeel
Windows® 2.0
Windows® 2.0
Posts: 25
Joined: April 22nd, 2016, 4:02 pm
Location: somewhere in Southeast Asia
Favourite Windows® development process: 7 and 8
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7 SP1 and Embedded 8.1 Industry
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby RGiskeel » May 2nd, 2016, 9:09 am

It's highly unlikely that they ran out of cash to do monthly payments of their site. They never actually faced any financial problems in the last few months, so I guess it isn't down for that reason.

It's also highly unlikely that their site has been taken down due to copyright infringement, because they immediately remove those contents if present.

I guess it's because they are undergoing some major maintenance due to the mirror 2 going down (thanks to KPStheKid for pointing this out), so maybe they temporarily make the site offline, without any maintenance notifications.

Whois lookup still works on them, indicating that the site is still used.
I hope this is temporary, because it's the only site I can rely right now. It's just disappointing that BA decided to put such an overly restrictive rule to get FTP access now. I could've made some thread to tell them to lower the requirements to between 100 and 300 posts, which is way easier than trying to get a disc for a beta release (which is really hard to do in my country), but I guess they'll just flat-out reject it. They're also always one step forward in getting Insider builds, making things harder.
I'd really like to see if I could tweak Windows 8 Dev Preview beta so that it could be used for everyday stuff!*
*Includes tweaking it to the point where it identifies as Windows 7 SP1.

User avatar
InsertGoodNameHere
Windows® 1.0
Windows® 1.0
Posts: 19
Joined: April 16th, 2016, 12:51 am
Favourite Windows® development process: Windows Whistler
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows 7
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Gender: None specified

Re: Winworld is down

Postby InsertGoodNameHere » May 2nd, 2016, 10:32 am

RGiskeel wrote:Well I actually just need to get this program called Syncronys SoftRAM from their site, because this software is infamous for its false advertising about increasing RAM. They do have it on their site, but it's currently down, so I can't just download it now.

Other than that, I just need Windows 7 beta ISOs (particularly build 7600.16384 "Pre-RTM" (because the RTM is 7600.16385) and build 6936) and Windows 8 beta too (particularly build 7989).

If anyone has those (SoftRAM, Win7 beta, or Win8 beta), PM me.


Winworld don't (didn't?) have 7 and 8 betas anyway.
Main PC - i5 6600K, EVGA GTX 970 SC, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming, EVGA Supernova NEX 650G, 16GB DDR4 Kingston Fury (8x2), Corsair H100i GTX, 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Corsair 300R

Site: allgooddomainsareused.x10host.com (sef hosting coming soon)

User avatar
alexandru_c
Windows® 98
Windows® 98
Posts: 156
Joined: May 1st, 2016, 10:15 pm
Location: Romania
Favourite Windows® development process: Windows Server
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows Server
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Gender: Male
Contact:

Re: Winworld is down

Postby alexandru_c » May 3rd, 2016, 12:03 pm

InsertGoodNameHere wrote:
RGiskeel wrote:Well I actually just need to get this program called Syncronys SoftRAM from their site, because this software is infamous for its false advertising about increasing RAM. They do have it on their site, but it's currently down, so I can't just download it now.

Other than that, I just need Windows 7 beta ISOs (particularly build 7600.16384 "Pre-RTM" (because the RTM is 7600.16385) and build 6936) and Windows 8 beta too (particularly build 7989).

If anyone has those (SoftRAM, Win7 beta, or Win8 beta), PM me.


Winworld don't (didn't?) have 7 and 8 betas anyway.

But old-dos.ru FTP does have 1 Windows 7 Beta build (I didn't personally tested the iso, but I did downloaded it), but isn't the one he needs, they say it's Windows 7 Build 6780 Enterprise.
What can you do with just some basic PHP knowledge: http://splatform.sourceforge.net

Awesome LIVE event right NOW: [url ]http://radiozu.ro/forzazulive/ [ /url] - event over


Return to “The Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest