Welcome to the Windows On Windows® forum! The forum is free for anyone to use, so come join in the fun!

...Forum not enough for you? Chat live with other Windows® fans on our Discord server!

Winworld is down

Discuss here anything that does not fit into the other areas of the forum. (If you have a suggestion for a new sub-forum, please make it known by posting in the Suggestions Box.)
User avatar
RGiskeel
Windows® 2.0
Windows® 2.0
Posts: 25
Joined: April 22nd, 2016, 4:02 pm
Location: somewhere in Southeast Asia
Favourite Windows® development process: 7 and 8
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7 SP1 and Embedded 8.1 Industry
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times
Gender: Male

Re: Winworld is down

Postby RGiskeel » May 5th, 2016, 6:00 am

OK, so it seems that Winworld is now back online :)
They even explained the reason why it went down here.
Hopefully it doesn't go down again.


I'd really like to see if I could tweak Windows 8 Dev Preview beta so that it could be used for everyday stuff!*
*Includes tweaking it to the point where it identifies as Windows 7 SP1.

User avatar
jKcementj
Windows® 2.1
Windows® 2.1
Posts: 51
Joined: April 28th, 2016, 4:01 pm
Location: Chicago
Favourite Windows® development process: Longhorn/Vista
Favourite Windows® operating system: Vista & 2000
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Gender: None specified

Re: Winworld is down

Postby jKcementj » May 5th, 2016, 11:17 am

RGiskeel wrote:I just realized that Winworld is currently down for whatever reason. It was working fine few days ago, but when I access it today it doesn't work and Chrome claims that the domain is nonexistent? Maybe someone hacked it? Because from what I read, if a site's domain suddenly becomes nonexistent there's a chance that a hacker might've taken control of it.

I can't just use BA because it really sucks that my FTP request was rejected, even though the file I uploaded wasn't on the logs yet. Have they tricked me for doing so? I felt that I was cheated by them because of this.

There's also another site called old-dos, but its list is not as complete as Winworld.

Any other suggestions to get some abandonware without trying to reupload and apply for FTP on BA just to find out that the request is rejected again?

Today Works. Winworldpc.com

User avatar
jKcementj
Windows® 2.1
Windows® 2.1
Posts: 51
Joined: April 28th, 2016, 4:01 pm
Location: Chicago
Favourite Windows® development process: Longhorn/Vista
Favourite Windows® operating system: Vista & 2000
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Gender: None specified

Re: Winworld is down

Postby jKcementj » May 5th, 2016, 11:19 am

Winwordpc Work Today sometime not works for me.

User avatar
TheComputerBetaG
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Windows® 98 Second Edition
Posts: 185
Joined: April 14th, 2016, 5:49 pm
Location: E:\NAmerica\United_States.exe
Favourite Windows® development process: Vista
Favourite Windows® operating system: 7, 98, Vista
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Re: Winworld is down

Postby TheComputerBetaG » May 5th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Glad it came back online! I needed to redo my Windows Chicago since the installation files corrupted on my drive. (Changed it to a notepad format all in chinese!)

User avatar
InsertGoodNameHere
Windows® 1.0
Windows® 1.0
Posts: 19
Joined: April 16th, 2016, 12:51 am
Favourite Windows® development process: Windows Whistler
Favourite Windows® operating system: Windows 7
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Gender: None specified

Re: Winworld is down

Postby InsertGoodNameHere » May 13th, 2016, 9:55 pm

alexandru_c wrote:
InsertGoodNameHere wrote:
RGiskeel wrote:Well I actually just need to get this program called Syncronys SoftRAM from their site, because this software is infamous for its false advertising about increasing RAM. They do have it on their site, but it's currently down, so I can't just download it now.

Other than that, I just need Windows 7 beta ISOs (particularly build 7600.16384 "Pre-RTM" (because the RTM is 7600.16385) and build 6936) and Windows 8 beta too (particularly build 7989).

If anyone has those (SoftRAM, Win7 beta, or Win8 beta), PM me.


Winworld don't (didn't?) have 7 and 8 betas anyway.

But old-dos.ru FTP does have 1 Windows 7 Beta build (I didn't personally tested the iso, but I did downloaded it), but isn't the one he needs, they say it's Windows 7 Build 6780 Enterprise.


I recall trying that, doesn't work.
Main PC - i5 6600K, EVGA GTX 970 SC, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming, EVGA Supernova NEX 650G, 16GB DDR4 Kingston Fury (8x2), Corsair H100i GTX, 2TB Seagate Barracuda, Corsair 300R

Site: allgooddomainsareused.x10host.com (sef hosting coming soon)


Return to “The Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest